Another reason I love my wife

Or, “Best of 2011 Scout Trip.” I really do appreciate my wife. She didn’t grow up with a love of the outdoors. More than likely she had a distaste for hunting. In either case, she has allowed herself to grow into a cautious appreciation of what it means to me. For those of you who aren’t familiar with how this works, scouting is absolutely essential to the hunt. Like anything else for which we train, the real work is done in the offseason. It takes time to find the animals, pattern them undetected and discover the hide-holes they slip into when they sense pressure in the woods. I am always amazed at how keen they are to their environments. Even a couple of humans can unknowingly alert herds of their presence up to 3 miles away.

I am by no means an expert when it comes to hunting, just a guy with plenty of appreciation for the work it takes to train, stalk, kill and dress a large animal in the wild, in home territory no less. The effort, the journey and the joy of all of it are what keep me going year after year. The best description I have is a full-on adrenaline rush for all 5 senses.

Leave a Reply

